Author |
Message |
wHiTeHaT
Life Cycles Becoming CPU Cycles

Joined: Jul 18, 2004
Posts: 579
|
Posted:
Sat Jan 07, 2012 3:44 pm |
|
I have a text like the following:
16 mb (- 10)
The text could also be:
extra cheese on hamburger (+ 2.50)
i need to strip the text in 3 vars:
var1 (var2 vart3)
Text is alway's formated as above:
-Before the ( is text.
-directly after the ( , is a + or minus sign.
-Between the ( ) , and exclude the plus or minus sign is also a part of the text.
Failed attempts here:
http://jsfiddle.net/whitehat/vrcXY/ |
|
|
|
 |
Palbin
Site Admin

Joined: Mar 30, 2006
Posts: 2583
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
|
Posted:
Sun Jan 08, 2012 1:11 am |
|
Code:
var value = "128 Mb (+ 100)"; // this is an example only
var temp = value.split("(");
var memory = temp[0].replace(/\s+$/,""); // trim off space
var plusminus = temp[1].charAt(0);
var amount = temp[1].substring(1).replace(/^\s+/,"").replace(")","");
document.write(memory+ "<br />");
document.write(plusminus+ "<br />");
document.write(amount+ "<br />");
|
You are just using the wrong "keys" for "temp" in two spots. |
_________________ "Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it." — Brian W. Kernighan. |
|
|
 |
wHiTeHaT

|
Posted:
Sun Jan 08, 2012 2:34 am |
|
Yes i know palbin (was testing).
i fixed the problem without regexp. |
|
|
|
 |
killing-hours
RavenNuke(tm) Development Team

Joined: Oct 01, 2010
Posts: 438
Location: Houston, Tx
|
Posted:
Wed Feb 08, 2012 4:36 pm |
|
I know I'm a month late to this party... but just a tip I learned about JavaScript... there is no need to call "var" for each, they can be separated with a comma and closed with a semicolon.
I.e.
Code:var value = "128 Mb (+ 100)", // this is an example only
temp = value.split("("),
memory = temp[0].replace(/\s+$/,""), // trim off space
plusminus = temp[1].charAt(0),
amount = temp[1].substring(1).replace(/^\s+/,"").replace(")","");
|
I know it's trivial but it helps keep the code looking cleaner. (Think I got the tip from the online YUI compressor or something like that) |
_________________ Money is the measurement of time - Me
"You can all go to hell…I’m going to Texas" -Davy Crockett |
|
|
 |
Raven
Site Admin/Owner

Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 17088
|
Posted:
Fri Feb 10, 2012 2:22 pm |
|
Good tip! I had forgotten about that one. The more I/you/we use apps like jQuery the more we lose track of all manner of the "roots" from whence we came . I guess that's the price we pay for progress, right? |
|
|
|
 |
killing-hours

|
Posted:
Fri Feb 10, 2012 2:39 pm |
|
Since we are on the topic of tips, here's another...
When writing in jquery... instead of calling to the dom for each selector... cache the selector at the beginning of the function then use the new variable throughout instead. Again, another "trivial" thing but makes for cleaner, better performing code.
I.e.
Bad: (yes I know this is chainable... not the issue)
Code:$('#Selector').addClass('fun');
$('#Selector').animate('do stuff');
$('#Selector').fadeOut('slow');
|
Good:
Code:Var selector = $('#Selector');
selector.addClass('fun');
selector.animate('do stuff');
selector.fadeOut('slow');
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|