Author |
Message |
buildingmaster01
Regular


Joined: Dec 11, 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Indiana, USA
|
Posted:
Sat Jan 01, 2005 10:43 am |
|
I have the My_Uploads module on my site. There is some type of limit restricting users from uploading any files over 2MB. It is not the limit I can set in my CP. I have that at 6 MB. Does anyone know how to get rid of that restriction? |
|
|
|
 |
sixonetonoffun
Spouse Contemplates Divorce

Joined: Jan 02, 2003
Posts: 2496
|
Posted:
Sat Jan 01, 2005 11:17 am |
|
php.ini the default value is usually 2mbs |
_________________ [b][size=5]openSUSE 11.4-x86 | Linux 2.6.37.1-1.2desktop i686 | KDE: 4.6.41>=4.7 | XFCE 4.8 | AMD Athlon(tm) XP 3000+ | MSI K7N2 Delta-L | 3GB Black Diamond DDR
| GeForce 6200@433Mhz 512MB | Xorg 1.9.3 | NVIDIA 270.30[/size:2b8 |
|
|
 |
buildingmaster01

|
Posted:
Sat Jan 01, 2005 11:28 am |
|
Yes, but how can I change it? |
|
|
|
 |
montego
Site Admin

Joined: Aug 29, 2004
Posts: 9457
Location: Arizona
|
Posted:
Sat Jan 01, 2005 7:04 pm |
|
If you do not have access to php.ini (I don't), you may want to look-up these settings in the .htaccess file for Apache (if you're using Apache that is -- it might override what is in php.ini -- I got these from what Menalto's gallery module places in its directory to allow for larger media uploads):
php_value post_max_size NNNNNN
php_value upload_max_filesize NNNNNN
Where NNNNNN is the size, but I am only guessing that it is in bytes. I am guessing the second one is what you need to try. You may wish to have a separate .htaccess file just for the upload directory (just a cautionary / security measure). I.e., do not place these in your web root .htaccess file.
Regards,
Rob |
|
|
|
 |
ecvej
Hangin' Around

Joined: Oct 10, 2004
Posts: 45
Location: Northampton, UK
|
Posted:
Sat Jan 01, 2005 11:08 pm |
|
this is in the modules readme file
Quote: | Changing the Maximum uploaded file size:
----------------------------------------
Do you know where it says "The maximum uploaded file size is some #"? This has nothing
to do with My Uploads. This is a PHP system setting that only the administrator of
your website has control over (the person who runs your server). That setting determines
the largest file size that can be uploaded using PHP. There are ways to get around this
though:
If you do have access to your PHP.INI file then read this:
Make the following changes to your PHP.INI:
1. Find "upload_max_filesize" and change that to the highest filesize you want to
be uploaded onto your server. I.E. change #m to highest#m.
Example: 2m, 10m, 15m, 100m, etc.
2. Find "post_max_size" and change that to the highest filesize you want to be
uploaded onto your server. I.E. change #m to highest#m.
Example: 2m, 10m, 15m, 100m, etc.
If you do not have access to that file or you only want to change it for a certain
directory then read this:
Add the following lines into an ".htaccess" file. If this file is not present in
your home directory then open up a text editor and follow along:
1. Add "php_value upload_max_filesize 40M" where 40 equals the maximum file size
2. Add "php_value post_max_size 40M" where 40 equals the maximum file size
Save this file and upload it to your home directory. Go to the My Uploads index
page (<modules.php?name=My_Uploads>) and look at the value under the upload bar.
If it has been set to the amount you set it to then it worked, or else there is
something blocking it from working. Go back and make sure everything is present
and if necessary then upload the ".htaccess" file again. |
|
|
|
|
 |
ecvej

|
Posted:
Sun Jan 02, 2005 12:53 am |
|
Code:if(eregi("links.my_uploads.php", $PHP_SELF)) die("Access Denied");
global $prefix, $db, $user_prefix, $version, $currentlang, $radminsuper;
$module_name = "My_Uploads";
get_lang($module_name);
adminmenu("admin.php?op=my_uploads#start", MYU_MYUPLOADS, "uploads.gif");
| BTW if anyone is using chatserv's 6.9 the links.my_uploads.php as above wont work (doesn't for me anyway). Instead, any icons after "my" in the alphabet wont appear in the admin panel. look at another links.modulename.php file to see how to fix.
I believe the index.php file in the module's folder is borked as well. I made a few changes and got it working (mainfile missing, headers already started etc). |
|
|
|
 |
buildingmaster01

|
Posted:
Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:22 pm |
|
I don't have complete access to all the server, but I will give it a try after I find out what is wrong with my FAQ. |
|
|
|
 |
buildingmaster01

|
Posted:
Sun Jan 16, 2005 1:53 pm |
|
I emailed me host, and he said he changed the setting.
I viewed the php.ini settings by setting up a phpinfo script, and it still says 2M. He rebooted the server even.
Why is the php.ini not changing?
I have the .haccess file in my directory from Sentinel. I will add php_value upload_max_filesize 40M at the bottom and see if it works. |
|
|
|
 |
buildingmaster01

|
Posted:
Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:52 pm |
|
It worked. I think I can edit the module to show out instructions on what I want my members to upload, and how I want them to do it. |
|
|
|
 |
|